zum Menü

John Stevens


Besetzung: Blechbläserquintett (2 Trompeten, Horn, Posaune und Tuba)
Ausgabe: Noten
Komponist: John Stevens
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versand
lieferbar | Lieferzeit 3-4 Wochen

Limit: Stück

nicht in allen Ländern verfügbar.

mehr erfahren >

Auf einen Blick:

Verlag: editions bim
Bestell-Nr.: BIM-ENS45
Dauer: 18:00 min
Gewicht: 333 g


Fabrics for brass quintet was composed in the summer of 1989. Like 'Seasons', it was written for the Wisconsin Brass Quintet, premiered by that group, and supported by funding from the University of Wisconsin Graduate School. Also a four movement work, 'Frabrics' was inspired by the many beautiful handmade quilts made over the years by Mr. Stevens' mother. The title refers to the many colors and weaves of sound of which the brass quintet is capable. Once again, the setting of a mood is of primary importance in these movements, rather than any particular technical compositional devices. Each movement is titled after a traditional American quilt pattern. The first, 'Morning Star', reflects the quiet, but shimmering dawn of day. 'Sunshine and Shadow', is, as one might expect, a study in contrast. This is accomplished largely through instrumentation and orchestration - piccolo trumpets are used and the three lower brass are often in their extreme lower registers. Flugelhorns are used in the third movement, 'Delectable Mountains', aidong to create a dark, rich, majestic sound. 'Flying Geese', the title of the last movement, is a pattern that is seen on or around many early American quilts. The suggestion of strength and speed is portrayed in this rapid, brassy finale.